Hillbilly-Music.com—The People. The Music. The History.
Les Smithheart
and his Super X Cowboys
WSON Henderson, KY

About The Artist

Les Smithheart and the Super X Cowboys were an act we first found mention of in 1957, working out of Henderson, Kentucky, a town on the Ohio River, just a bit south of Evansville, Indiana. Les and his group were working at radio station WSON in Henderson and also doing television over WEHT-TV.

Timeline & Trivia Notes Group members:

  • Les Smithheart
  • Wally Smithheart, rhythm guitar
  • Johnny Smithheart, drums and piano; vocal solos
  • Jimmy Gattlin, saxophone
  • Jimmy Rich, take-off guitar
  • Jerry Mandorcia, stell guitar
  • Smoky McCoz, a featured soloist with the band

Credits & Sources

  • Folk and Country Songs Vol. II NO. 3; May 1957; American Folk Publications, Inc.; Derby, CT