Hillbilly-Music.com - Keeping Classic Country Music Alive  Hillbilly-Music Folio Display

Hillbilly Music - Home Hillbilly Music - Artists Hillbilly Music - Groups Hillbilly Music - Programs Hillbilly Music - Disc Jockeys & Emcees Hillbilly Music - News and Press Hillbilly Music BLOG Hillbilly Music - Jukebox Hillbilly Music - Organizations Hillbilly Music - Library Hillbilly Music Music Store Hillbilly Music - Publications Hillbilly Music - Music Sources Hillbilly Music - Our Links To... Hillbilly Music - Thanks a Lot Hillbilly Music - About Our Site

Diana Duke

Diana Duke was one of the first artists that recorded for a then new Dollie record label in 1966. Her first release, "Cold Cup of Coffee" b/w "Time Have Mercy On Me" were written by Kent Westbury. The records were released on June 30, 1966. The Dollie label derived its name from the wife of Bill Denny (President of Cedarwood Publishing Company), Dollie.

Diana was part of a trio of entertainers that campaigned with John J. Hooker, who was a candidate for governor of Tennessee in 1966. Paul Moore, known as the singing dentist was the other artist along with the group backing them up - The John Js. Their travels were to take them throughout the state from July 2 through August 4 of 1966.

On Saturday September 17, 1966 the Grand Ole Opry held sort of an unofficial celebration for the Cedarwood Publishing Company and featured many artists related to the firm. Vice President of Dollie Records, John Denny was there along with Diana and fellow label artist, Marti Brown. Mel Tillis and Paul Moore also appeared on the Opry that evening as well. Other personnel from Cedarwood on hand that evening were Curley Rhodes and Roger Sovine.

Credits & Sources

  • Country Music Life; August 1966; Country Music Life Publications; Orange, California
  • Country Music Life; September 1966; Country Music Life Publications; Orange, California
  • Country Music Life; November 1966; Country Music Life Publications; Orange, California
  • Country Song Roundup; December 1966; Charlton Publishing Corp.; Derby, CT

Get The Music

Printer Friendly Version

Rec. No. Side Song Title
  501 A This Time Have Mercy On Me
  501 B Cold Cup Of Coffee
  513 A I Feel That Old Love Coming On
  513 B Side Street
  515 A That's No Sign
  515 B Together Separately
Rec. No. Side Song Title
  73033 A Tonight The Jukebox Plays For Me
  73033 B Nothing In Common
  73126 A When You Want Something Different (Come On Home)
  73126 B

Artist Lists
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z