Hillbilly-Music.com - Keeping Classic Country Music Alive  Hillbilly-Music Folio Display

Hillbilly Music - Home Hillbilly Music - Artists Hillbilly Music - Groups Hillbilly Music - Programs Hillbilly Music - Disc Jockeys & Emcees Hillbilly Music - News and Press Hillbilly Music BLOG Hillbilly Music - Jukebox Hillbilly Music - Organizations Hillbilly Music - Library Hillbilly Music Music Store Hillbilly Music - Publications Hillbilly Music - Music Sources Hillbilly Music - Our Links To... Hillbilly Music - Thanks a Lot Hillbilly Music - About Our Site

Les Smithheart
and his Super X Cowboys
WSON Henderson, KY

Les Smithheart and the Super X Cowboys were an act we first found mention of in 1957, working out of Henderson, Kentucky, a town on the Ohio River, just a bit south of Evansville, Indiana. Les and his group were working at radio station WSON in Henderson and also doing television over WEHT-TV.

Timeline & Trivia Notes Group members:

  • Les Smithheart
  • Wally Smithheart, rhythm guitar
  • Johnny Smithheart, drums and piano; vocal solos
  • Jimmy Gattlin, saxophone
  • Jimmy Rich, take-off guitar
  • Jerry Mandorcia, stell guitar
  • Smoky McCoz, a featured soloist with the band

Credits & Sources

  • Folk and Country Songs Vol. II NO. 3; May 1957; American Folk Publications, Inc.; Derby, CT

Get The Music

Printer Friendly Version

Artist Lists
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z